BBC TV features 8-year-old child’s ISS amateur radio contact

0
Isabella Payne interviewed by BBC Josie Hannett TVs

Tuesday August 16, BBC TV Josie Hannet interviewed an 8 year old child Isabelle Payne about his amateur radio contact with the NASA astronaut Kjell Lindgren KO5MOS on the International Space Station

On August 2, Hilderstone Radio Society member Isabella G0HRS used her father’s amateur radio station M0LMK to make contact with Kjell who was using the ISS amateur station, call sign NA1SS. Isabella has taken part in several amateur radio events and hopes to have her own amateur radio license soon.

The BBC News article aired on the BBC South East Today program at 6.30pm BST (5.30pm GMT) on Tuesday August 16. It’s available on the web, fast forward to 3:25 p.m. in the show at
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001b8bk/south-east-today-evening-news-16082022

You can read the BBC News article at
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-62563215

Isabella was interviewed on BBC Radio 5 Live on Tuesday August 16 at 5:40 p.m. BST (4:40 p.m. GMT) and on BBC Radio Kent on August 17 at 8:20 a.m. BST (07:20 GMT).

Media coverage of the ISS amateur radio contact of an eight-year-old child
https://amsat-uk.org/2022/08/11/press-report-8-year-olds-iss-contact/

The ISS astronaut’s favorite amateur radio contact
https://amsat-uk.org/2022/08/03/iss-astronauts-favorite-ham-radio-contact/

BBC South East on Instagram: “A dream come true for eight-year-old Isabella!
https://www.instagram.com/reel/ChU0oenDiD6/

What is amateur radio?
http://www.essexham.co.uk/what-is-amateur-radio

Free Online UK Amateur Radio Training Course
https://essexham.co.uk/train/foundation-online/



Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.